May Training Update

I am beginning to feel like a runner again.  My long runs are getting longer and my fast runs are getting faster.  I have still had to skip a few workouts to make sure I have enough recovery time, but things seem to be headed in the right direction.  So far, everything is going to schedule regarding prep for the Palo Duro 50 in October.

I am also beginning (I hope) to figure out how to train at a high level while being a good husband and father.  I don’t ever want Jenny or the kids to think running is anything other than running, or that I wouldn’t skip a run in a heartbeat if they wanted me to.  That has meant running either very early, very late, with Jen & the kids (in a jogging stroller), or when we have some extra help around in the form of friends or family.

A few highlights from the month were a 12 mile run down the Galveston Seawall and a solo trail half-marathon through the Piney Woods of East Texas near Toledo Bend Lake.  The low point of the month was the return of the heat.  It has taken some adjusting and some planning (water packs, energy gels, electrolyte replacement) to continue to train in 90+ degree weather.  It’s only going to get hotter for the next few months, so I better get used to it.  No injuries to report other than the usual and expected soreness.

The return to serious running has been good for me on several levels besides the physical.  It has been wonderful stress relief, it helps me to clear my mind and collect my always divergent thoughts, and it makes me happy… enriches my soul.  A few weeks ago after a half marathon before church, Jenny remarked, “Wow!  You are like super husband this morning.”  I think she was right… not that I am a super husband, but that running makes me happy, helps me focus, and gives me energy.  Let’s hope it stays that way.

May Summaries:

Total Miles in May: 84

Total Runs in May: 13

Longest Run: 13.1 miles (2x)

Total Miles Since Return to Running: 524

~ by jdballard on May 31, 2012.

One Response to “May Training Update”

  1. Wish you and Matt could train together- he’s been keeping up with your workouts on here. Glad you’re back to it!

Leave a Reply

 
