Running Reboot: From Black Hills to Hard Wood

It has been quite a year for the Ballard household.  Honestly, probably the most trying four months of my adult life: helping my wife fight cancer, two children under two, and six month old start up business, and living in a new city without a well established network of support.  I think we will always look back and say, “2012 was just a hard year.”

And yet, we know if could have been harder, and it could have been worse.  All things considered, we are a happy family with (hopefully) the worst of these trials behind us.  I publish this blog for our friends and family to keep with us, and I think it has done that exceedingly well.  Several readers who knew I had been (before the arrival of cancer) training to run the Black Hills 100 have asked if I am still training, and if I still plan to run it.  The answer is yes and no.

I have in the last month or so begun to run again (80 miles in the last 8 weeks).  That is not a lot, but my fitness is coming back.  I do plan to give the BH100 a try, but it will not be this year.  For now, I’m tentatively shooting for June 2013.  But, I didn’t want to let the whole year be a wash or let the 450ish miles I’ve run in the last 12 months be for nothing.  So, I’m going to attempt a more modest race in October of this year: The Palo Duro 50, a 50 mile run through the Palo Duro Canyon in West Texas.

The Palo Duro (English translation: Hard Wood) is the “Grand Canyon of Texas”, and as a native Texan that holds a certain romantic mystique.  For those of you who want to keep up with my progress, I’ll begin posting training updates to this site again soon.

~ by jdballard on May 7, 2012.

2 Responses to “Running Reboot: From Black Hills to Hard Wood”

  1. Don’t let the English teacher come out in me. (You know I love you, but I love commas and correct pronoun references too.) That ought to keep you busy for … a second. Smooches, my speed writer, speed talking, speed walking, speed running little buddy.

    • Oh, and note to self, “Physician, heal thyself.” Ought to keep my things parallel there. Let me say, “speed writing” instead of “writer” and my apologies. (Removing mote from my eye)

Leave a Reply

 
